Hints and Tips

The Main Seven Chakras

The body has seven major centers of concentrated energy called Chakras.  A Chakra is believed to be a whirling vortex that draws energy into the body, allowing it to flow freely through the network of energy centers.  The word ‘Chakra’ comes from the ancient Sanskrit language and means ‘circle of movement or wheel’.  There are many other smaller Chakras located around the body following meridian lines.  There are strong Chakras located on in the center of the soles of the feet, where they connect to the earths energy and the palms of the hands, where they connect with the world.

To ensure health, all the Chakras need to be open, unblocked and in balance with each other.  Chakras act as a link between the emotional and physical body.

Picture taken by www.meditationgongs.net

7th Chakra -The Crown Chakra
SAHASRARA – meaning ‘thousand petal lotus’
Located: crown of the head
Colour: violet or white
Governs: pineal gland
Gem stone: diamond, amethyst and clear quartz crystal
Musical vibration: B
Aromatherapy oil: frankincense, jasmine and myrrh
Planet: Uranus
Attributes: wisdom, knowledge, consciousness and spiritual connection
Imbalanced: materialism, apathy, confusion, limiting beliefs and depression

6th Chakra -The Third Eye Chakra
AJNA – meaning ‘command’
Located: on the forehead between the eyebrows
Colour: indigo
Governs: pituitary gland
Gem stone: amethyst, sodalite and lapis Lazuli
Musical vibration: A
Aromatherapy oil: geranium, lavender, rosemary and mint
Planet: Jupiter
Element: light
Attributes: intuition, psychic abilities, concentration, self knowledge and insight
Imbalanced: nightmares, hallucinations, delusions, poor memory, headaches and denial

5th Chakra -The Throat Chakra
VIHUDDHA – meaning ‘purest of the pure’
Located: at the throat
Colour: light blue or sky blue
Governs: thyroid gland, vocal cords and voice
Gem stone: aquamarine, blue topaz and azurite
Musical vibration: G
Aromatherapy oil: lavender and patchouli
Planet: Mercury and Neptune
Element: ether
Attributes: communication, self-expression and sound
Imbalanced: inability to listen, fear of speaking, sore throats and poor rhythm

4th Chakra -The Heart Chakra
ANAHATA – meaning ‘that which is ever new’
Located: at the center of the chest
Colour: emerald green or pink
Governs: thymus gland, lungs and heart
Gem stone: rose quartz, kunzite, aventurine and watermelon tourmaline
Musical vibration: F
Aromatherapy oil: cedar-wood, rose and sandalwood
Planet: Venus
Element: air
Attributes: compassion, self-acceptance, healthy relationships and internal balance
Imbalanced: setting poor boundaries, jealous, shyness, loneliness, isolation, lacking empathy and heart and circulation problems

3rd Chakra -The Solar Plexus Chakra
MANIPURA – meaning ‘dwelling place of jewels’
Located: between the chest and navel
Colour: yellow
Governs: pancreas, liver, stomach and spleen
Gem stone: citrine, amber, yellow topaz and yellow calcite.
Musical vibration: E
Aromatherapy oil: juniper, lavender, bergamot, rosemary and vetiver
Planet: Mars and the Sun
Element: fire
Attributes: sense of identity, vitality, spontaneity, strength of will, sense of purpose and self esteem
Imbalanced: dominating, judgmental, weak willed, low self esteem, overly passive, nervous stomach and hypersensitivity

2nd Chakra -The Sacral Chakra
SVADHISTANA – meaning ‘your own dwelling place’
Located: about 2 inches below the navel
Colour: orange
Governs: genitals, reproductive organs and bladder
Gem stone: carnelian, orange calcite and tigers eye
Musical vibration: D
Aromatherapy oil: rose, rosemary, ylang-ylang, juniper, sandalwood and jasmine
Planet: Moon
Element: water
Attributes: creativity, self esteem, freedom, fertility, desire, emotional balance and sensuality
Imbalanced: manipulation, high sex drive, poor boundaries, feeling unloved and emotional numbness

1st Chakra -The Base or Root Chakra
MULADHARA – meaning ‘root of our support’
Located: at the base of the spine
Colour: Red
Governs: kidneys, adrenals, pelvis, lower back and knees
Gem stone:  red garnet, smoky quartz, obsidian and black tourmaline.
Musical vibration: C
Aromatherapy oil: patchouli, cedarwood, sandalwood and vetiver
Planet: Earth and Saturn
Element: Earth
Attributes: prosperity, stability, ability to relax, health, vitality and security
Imbalanced: attachment to material things, greed, pessimism, stagnation and low energy


Comments disabled.